Man’s Hubris – The Drive to Be God in Fiction

In the writing process the author grasps the role of omnipotent being; tinkering with the destiny and lives of characters created within the synapses of the author’s imagination. But as unique we hope the story we tell will become, and despite the writer’s ingenuity, it’s inevitable to find echoes from yarns, traditions and fears from yesteryear.

Between the Beats

sistine
I had an interesting conversation with my husband today. We were watching “Jurassic Park” and he commented he had never been interested in dinosaurs. I admitted dinosaurs had never been high on my list of fascinating subjects either. That started me thinking about why I enjoyed the “Jurassic Park” books and movies. It hit me then, rather like having slammed the book over the top of my head.
I was fascinated, not with dinosaurs, but with the notion of man playing God. This drive is nothing new. It goes back to the story of Lucifer being cast out of heaven because he sought to be like God. So off he went, to Hell, and took his playmates with him, rather like a child who was denied the role of leader in a schoolyard game. Of course he is not satisfied to stay in his own yard, but is said to…

View original post 428 more words

Leave a Reply

